Where Have I Been…? Writing a Novel!

Oh my goodness, this blog is severely neglected. BUT THAT’S OKAY, I have a super legitimate reason! =D

So first, some updates…unfortunately the Plight of the Humanatee Kickstarter did not raise enough money to get that project off the ground. However, I’d still like to invest in a couple prototype shirts and see if anyone is still interested in buying them! HUMANATEE DOES NOT GIVE UP. Right now, though, that project has been put on hold until I have the time and money to properly invest in it and continue the drawings for the rest of the t-shirts. It shouldn’t take long to come back to it though, so you can expect to see more annoying updates about Hugh the Humanatee from me in a month or so. xD

In the wake of the end of the Kickstarter project, I followed a few of my friends in their journey through NaNoWriMo. If you aren’t familiar, November is National Novel Writing Month (hence the acronym), and the organization behind it challenges you to write 50,000 words towards a novel in 30 days! I’d never participated before, but always wanted to, so this year I gave it a shot! It was a lot of hard work and pushing, especially since I’m horrible at following through with writing-related tasks, but…I DID IT.

NaNoWriMo-2014-Winner-Certificate

(that’s my proof that I did it. =D)

However, my novel wasn’t yet complete and ended up coming in at around 72,500 words by the end of it. I worked through December to finish it, edit it (which was a HIDEOUS PROCESS), format it (possibly an even more hideous process, especially since I haven’t even formatted it as an eBook yet), and design the outer elements.

Long story short…I’ve been dedicating all my free time and energy into writing and finishing a novel between November 1st and yesterday.

The end result?

KaleidoscopeCoverSmall

TA-DA. I HAVE A BOOK AND SHIT.

I HAVE A BOOK, GUYS.  And yes, it’s safe to say that I’m extremely proud of myself for tackling this endeavor. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do since I was a kid, so it’s really, really awesome that I was able to do this (with the help of a some supportive friends and a few REALLY supportive ones who offered to read the unedited first draft!). Thanks to everyone who has ever supported my artistic endeavors, even by telling me I could do them. =D

Now, I’m not done with this project–like I said, I have to make it eBook compatible next if I have any real hopes of getting this out to the public–but if you noticed, the above image IS clickable! If you click on it, you can purchase a paperback copy of this book on Lulu for only $8 (plus shipping)! Most of this cost goes to the price of printing the book. but I do get a couple bucks from each purchase. =3 If the book looks interesting to you, I would be eternally grateful for your patronage and your feedback! There’s always room for improvement.

Otherwise, just spreading the word and patting me on the back is good enough for me! 😀

SO. I hope everyone had a lovely holiday season (thank God THAT’s over), and welcome back to my dead blog!

*tumbleweed blows by*

…yeah.

Leave a Reply

